Artist Spotlight Interview: Angie Farr

1

ARTIST SPOTLIGHT presents the wonderfully talented Angie Farr

I am so excited to interview this generous, kind and oh-so-talented lady whose whimsical digital art creations are filled with such vivid color, textures, expression, hope and imagination.

I first met Angie on Flickr, more specifically participating in several of the photography and digital art groups featured on this photography site.  These groups hold monthly art challenges which feature different themes and a chance to really dig in and development new Photoshop skills. Angie participates regularly in a number of challenges including the ones she heads up or joint admins every few weeks. These groups and challenges are always super active, highlighting different artists styles and experience levels. I am always in awe and thrilled to see her new creations. 

image

ok, let’s have a chat with Angie. 

Welcome ANGIE FARR, please introduce yourself!

Hi, my name is Angie Farr, I am a stay at home mother of two and grandmother to six beautiful grandchildren .
I live in the beautiful country town of Tenterden in the heart of the Weald of  Kent, England. I have lived here since 1968 and could never imagine living anywhere else.
I have been crafting in one way or another all my life trying my hand at most art forms. I brought my first computer about nine years ago not even knowing how to turn it on or off?  I  now call myself a “Digital Artist” ( I use the title loosely as I still feel I have a long way to go)  I love the fact that there is never an end to learning and progressing, so with that in mind I am a mere beginner .
I love taking photographs to use in my art, I own a Nikon Coolpix Bridge Camera and a small Samsung point and shoot.

 

Tell us how you have developed your style and where you hope to see this style evolve as you continue to work and grow as an artist.

I have been told by many that I have a “style” of digital art,  which more often than not features animals and children.  My passion and love for animals gives me the bases and inspiration for many of my works, and of course being a grandparent, I love spending time with the children too. The fact that both species are totally innocent gives me the emotions I need to hopefully convey that to my art.

image

How do you find social media in terms of promoting your art?

I have found social media a great platform for selling my art which I have done on and off over the years. From personalized pictures to mixed media  prints, from CD covers to catalog covers.

“For me to have someone want a piece of art which I have created still leaves me with a “really” kind of attitude, how awesome is that, that there are people out there who like it enough to buy it , it still amazes me.”

 

Do you like to stay fairly true to an initial idea / sketch / art vision ? Or do you like for your art to change as you go along the process, sometimes resulting in a finished piece that is dramatically different from what you first envisioned ?

I would say that when I start a new composition, 90% of the time I only have a sketchy idea of what I’m aiming to achieve. I like to evolve the piece as I go along, trying and experimenting on what works and what doesn’t.  Most of the time I end up with something I’m pretty happy with,  though I am my own worst critic and always think I could have done better in one way or another ?

What do you like best about participating in the teams / groups / competitions here on FLICKR with your friends and fellow photogs / digital artists ?

I love the Groups and Challenges that are run on Flickr for fun. I have met some amazing people, who though I have never met in person, will become lifelong Friends.

What plays an important factor in your creativity when you work on a project ? Music? Other Art? Books?

I love to see what other artists create with an image, how many different ideas they come up with, and learning from other people. I look forward in my spare time to be part of these ever growing friendly Groups.

image

Do you think working as an artist is a natural born “gift” vs artistry skills learned through desire, education and simply putting in the work?

I do believe that everyone has a “skill” and is capable of bringing it to the fore and finding your niche.

My desire to put together images on the computer and forming some sort of composition is something that I believe I have been waiting for as long as I can remember.
As I have already said, I have tried most “arty” things over the years, the breakthrough came for me was when I went from using  mixed media to make ATC cards (Artist Trading Cards) in my craftroom, to making them digitally, it gave me the scope for so much more than I could ever have imagined, I knew then that this was what I wanted to do and the rest they say is history.

Do you ever find yourself going back to older art pieces and reworking them either in a different direction and / or with new skills you have developed since you first finished the piece?

I almost never go back to an old finished piece, preferring to move forward with the new found knowledge I have acquired since making those early pieces.

For me it’s all about using skills I have acquired at this time and progressing onwards.

image

What kind of encouragement or jump start ideas do you give to someone who has been developing their artistry and style but hits a wall / slump?

I think we all hit a brick wall sometimes in our journey to become the best we can. Writers block doesn’t just affect writers, it happens to all of us at some time or another. For me, the best thing I do is leave it for a day, maybe two, go back with fresh eyes and then I can usually pick up again and finish the piece off, though many have ended by me using the delete button at this point ?

3https://www.flickr.com/photos/rubyblossom/

Where do you show your work and where can fans view your portfolio?

You can find my work in these places if you have the time and /or the inclination, if you do I am very grateful and I hope you enjoy looking at them as much as I have creating them ~

Leave a Reply

