Honoring that favorite childhood storybook

“Safe?” said Mr. Beaver; “don’t you hear what Mrs. Beaver tells you? Who said anything about safe? ‘Course he isn’t safe. But he’s good. He’s the King, I tell you.”
― C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

 

I ADORE this book. This was the book that when I look back on my reading adventures as a child, I can still pick up as an adult and read again and again. It just RESONATES with my heart and soul.

 

I was a total book worm growing up. Hiding out in libraries, pouring through reading lists and devouring fantasy children’s fiction books by the dozen. When I close my eyes, this is the book that comes to mind when I think about what kicked off my love of fantasy fiction and reading in general for me. I will even be as bold to say I think everyone has a book from their childhood that similarly echoes in the corners of their mind and influenced greatly their creative art career no matter the direction it took.

 

My personal creative journey, started with a magical wardrobe. This simple book would melt into my heart and become a springing board for just about every ounce of creative and daydreaming artistry I have either stumbled upon, climbed or soared through in my life.

In honor of Book Lover’s Day on 9 August, my writerly pals and I are having fun by sharing all the ways we adore reading. Which for me, brings to mind my beloved The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and the path it set me on for both future reading enjoyment and a fantasy art career.

Now I am not actually going to talk about the book. If you have read it, you just KNOW. If you have not, then by all means run to your nearest bookstore (old school), Kindle, or whatever present day device you have on hand and READ. Especially if you have young children 🙂  For soon you will be reading this delightful tale to them!

Instead this blog is simply about taking a look back in time at the one special book in childhood or as teenager that grabbed your attention and laid a brick in your path as a future artist… the book that led to the one painting… or the one photograph … or the one illustration …that no matter where you are today as an adult, STILL stops you in your tracks and takes you back to the place. You know the place. The place that you immediately feel all artsy fartsy “home.” The book connection that resonates with you and everything you have ever written as an author, or painted and drawn as an artist, or captured in images as a photographer, or formed and molded as a sculpture artist. The memory just hits you right there in your heart and soul. And then you know. That’s your book. That is exactly where it all began. Like layers and layers of years working in all your creativity, they all peel back to this one.

 

So tell me, What is yours? What is your book that jump started your imagination and was the first of many bricks placed in the road that led to your journey as an artist?

I am a photographer and digital artist. For me, it all started with a cozy corner spot in a small little Texas farm town library. And a Wardrobe.

 


“He’ll be coming and going” he had said. “One day you’ll see him and another you won’t. He doesn’t like being tied down–and of course he has other countries to attend to. It’s quite all right. He’ll often drop in. Only you mustn’t press him. He’s wild, you know. Not like a tame lion.”
― C.S. Lewis, The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe

 

For more Book loving blogs, check out some of my friends word worthy notes!

Cat Michaels ~ Cat’s Corner

Cat marks Book Lovers’ Day with a wink and a smile in her RAP, (Really-Awful Poem), “Ode to Books,” with apologies to Gertude Stein, the Bard, Dr. Seuss and true poets everywhere.

 

Corrina Holyoake ~ Venturing Into The Unknown

Corrina marks Book Lover’s Day by popping the paintbrushes away and putting her feet up to indulge in one of her favourite pastimes.

 

Auden Johnson ~ Dark Treasury

Books showed me I wasn’t alone

 

Karen Emma Hall ~ Kid Literature Blog

Enjoy Book Lovers day by making time to read

 

Leigh Emery Shearin ~ Leigh Shearin, Writer

How I found the secret to life on the big oak bookcase

 

Carmela Dutra ~ A Blog for Your Thoughts

Did you ever read a book that just made you fall madly in love with it?

 

If you have a blog about book love, post your link in the comments section, and I’ll give you some blog loving!

Leave a Reply

