Demystifying the Muse: Five Creativity Myths You Should Stop Believing

As I entered the creative world, beginning education and work in my own photography profession, I began to see a much broader view on this “gift” of artistry. Watching fellow photographers that excelled in their imagery not because they simply had that gift, but because they worked hard to educate themselves and spend the long hours learning their trade.  That yes, perhaps some were born with that gift of an “artsy eye”… but even so, worked to push themselves to learn how to pull it all together and create. The creativity and resulting artistry were works in progress, constantly evolving and constantly changing based on their countless hours poured into learning and striving towards their dream. I learned that it does not come easy to most artists. 

“Inspiration is for amateurs—the rest of us just show up and get to work.”

Also, I learned that a lot of artists gathered their creativity and ideas in various support groups… sharing time and insight with fellow like minded artists on a regular basis to grow in their artistry. Imagine that.  Whether an artist was introverted or extroverted, there seemed to be some channel or group that opened up to help an artist grow in their strengths and learn in their weaknesses.

“I have this mental image of my mythical creative—my creative spirit animal. He sits at a small, wooden table, a single lamp
illuminating a pen and pad covered in his signature scrawl, a tall glass
of whiskey sweating in his left hand.

It’s no
surprise that he’s alone. The mental image of the lone creative toiling
into the long hours of the night has becoming almost archetypal……At Pixar,
when their artists create new characters they all sit around a table,
drawing ideas and putting them in the middle. Everyone riffs off of each
others ideas, effectively using other people’s creativity and
imagination to springboard their own ideas.”

How refreshing it was to find that our best work comes from the long hours of work and passion. In finding fellowship with other artists and engaging in ideas. In striving towards our dream, pouring ourselves into the art and imagery not knowing where it will end or if it will become what we had initially even envisioned.  

All of this helps battle my own inner art demons when I feel overwhelmed, part insecurity and part anxiety, faced as I start a significant new project. That I do not have to be just born with an illusive magical artistry gift. That it does not “just come to me” in a magical moment of insight.  I can still pursue developing something of quality, beauty and significance based on my past hard work and present ambition. I can continue to educate myself, grow in my art and strive towards my artist dreams built upon years of working hard on my ever evolving passion and vision.  Cheers to that! ❤

Demystifying the Muse: Five Creativity Myths You Should Stop Believing

Leave a Reply

