New conceptual project starts with photo shoot of elderly woman

Start of a new art project! I got the wonderful opportunity of photographing this lovely young lady this past weekend in my studio. I am creating a conceptual piece on WWII / missing loved ones / first love / memories and she was gracious to not only pose for me, but tell me many stories of growing up in Paris during the war. amazing. tragic. I am at a loss for words. Powerful stories from such a time in her life. She still remembers like it was yesterday. Stuff that just stays with a person their whole life leaving it’s imprint on their heart, soul and spirit.  Such a dear lady. I am about half way finished and hope to show the finished art work soon!

What started me on this project was an art challenge from one of the fantastic groups I participate on FLICKR called RUBYS WAX LYRICAL.  The challenge was to do a visual based on the song by Simon & Garfunkel “The Sound of Silence. ”

Hello darkness, my old friend.

I’ve come to talk to you again

Because a vision softly creeping

Left its seeds while I was sleeping

And the vision that was planted in my brain

Still remains

Within the Sound of Silence.

Great lyrics with such rich possibility for imagery. So what was I going to do with this, right?  To me the lyrics speak of someone who welcomes the darkness of sleep and dreams.  So I got to thinking about that and what came to my mind was someone elderly who was thinking back on their youth/ past.. lovely walking through the days that was once. The silence that comes with visiting the past. The Dreams that remain from a lost love from one’s youth. So from here is where I built my story. The story of an elderly woman sitting comfortable in her chair, nodding off to sleep and dreaming of a young first love. A soldier gone off to war that did not return home.

and there you have it. Stay tuned. I do hope to do this dream justice in the portrayal.

Leave a Reply

